First Governing Body appointed to Atlantic Technological University (ATU)

Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science Simon Harris TD has this morning announced the appointment of Maura McNally SC as Chair of the Governing Body of Atlantic Technological University, which will open its doors on 1 st April 2022. 

Ms McNally takes up the role on foot of a public process carried out by the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science.   

A native of Dromod, Co. Leitrim, Ms McNally was called to the Bar in 1992 and practised on Circuit until her appointment to the Inner Bar in 2017. Following postgraduate studies at Warwick University (LLM) and UCG (BA and LLB), she completed her Bachelors of Law in King’s Inns and practices civil law, primarily in personal injury, chancery and non-jury. Ms McNally was elected as chair of the Council of The Bar of Ireland in 2020 and is only the second female to hold this prestigious position.  

Welcoming the appointment, Minister Harris said:  

“I am delighted to announce the appointment of Ms Maura McNally, Chair of the Bar Council of Ireland, as the chair of the first governing body of this new TU serving the West and Northwest. Ms McNally brings a vast and invaluable wealth of experience to the role, which will be crucial in steering the new Technological University through its formation.”  

Presidents of the three institutes; Dr Orla Flynn (GMIT) Brendan McCormack (IT Sligo), and Paul Hannigan (LYIT), welcomed the announcement in a joint statement: 

“On behalf of the CUA we would like to sincerely congratulate Ms McNally on her appointment and wish her very best wishes in steering the new Atlantic Technological University on its maiden voyage.”   

The first governing body appointed by Minister Harris is now charged with establishing and implementing the requisite election and appointment procedures to fill the remaining posts on the governing body from cohorts including undergraduate and postgraduate students, academic and non-academic staff, and a number of additional external members.  

She will be ably assisted by colleagues Ms Oonagh Monaghan, founder and Managing Director of Alpha Omega Consultants Ltd and Felim McNeela, founder of Avenue Mould Solutions, as external members of the governing body, along with Ms Anne McHugh, Chief Executive of Donegal ETB, who is the nominee of all three Education and Training Boards in whose areas the TU multi-campuses are located.  

Minister Harris designates first President of the Atlantic Technological University 

Latest News